San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe

Leadership (updated January 2021) Contact Information
Carlene Yellowhair, President Address: 50 S. Main Street, Ste. 201
Candelora Lehi, Vice President                Tuba City, AZ 86045
Richard Graymountain, Northern Council Member Phone: 928-283-4762
Louise Tallman, Northern Council Member website:
Carmelita Homer, Southern Council Member Health Representative: Carlene Yellowhair <>
Hope John, Southern Council Member Interim Education Director: Carlene Yellowhair
Mary Lou Boone, At-Large Council Member  
GOVERNANCE: The Tribal government is led by a seven-member Tribal Council. Council members serve 4-year terms, and there is no restriction on serving multiple consecutive terms. The Council meets once each month. 
CONSTITUTION: San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe Constitution, updated July 2019.
COMMUNITY PROFILE: The San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe gained federal recognition in 1990, but the Tribe has lived for several hundred years in territory between the San Juan and Colorado Rivers, east of the Grand Canyon.  The Tribe is one of the smallest tribes in Arizona, and its traditional territory has been subsumed as part of the Navajo Nation reservation. In 1907, Paiute lands north of Arizona in Utah were proclaimed as the Paiute Strip Reservation, under the jurisdiction of the Western Navajo Agency. In 1922, the Paiute Strip Reservation was completely integrated into Navajo lands and the Tribe lost their land base. Currently, the San Juan Southern Paiute people live in multiple communities in Northern Arizona. The largest of these are in Willow Springs, near Tuba City, and near the Arizona-Utah border at Paiute Canyon. The San Juan Southern Paiutes have a language and culture distinct from the Navajo.